Skip to content

2024 Catherine Durda Award

Catherine Durda Award


The Catherine Durda award is given in memory of Catherine Durda, the first female chair of the NAFTZ Board of Directors.  Durda was an innovative marketer and promoter of FTZs in the New York area. During her involvement with the NAFTZ, she dedicated much of her time to advancing the importance of FTZs for trade and job creation.

Each year, Grantee members are asked to submit their best marketing resources (video, printed ad, website, etc.) to be considered for the award.

Beginning this year, we are introducing more ways to recognize the efforts of our Grantees through the 2024 Catherine Award. We will now have three separate categories for Grantee marketing materials:

  • FTZ video marketing
  • Digital marketing materials (PDFs, PowerPoints, flyers, social media, website etc.), and
  • Events

The nominees will be presented to the entire membership, giving all members the opportunity to see the tremendous work of our Grantees and to vote to honor the materials/resources that best promote the advantages of using foreign-trade zones.

The three winners of the three different categories of the Catherine Durda Award will receive $500 in NAFTZ credit that can be used in any way the winner wishes such as towards an NAFTZ conference taking place in 2024 or 2025, towards 2025 NAFTZ membership renewal, etc.

The awards will be presented at the 2024 NAFTZ Annual Conference will be held in New Orleans, LA.  Submitters do not have to attend the upcoming NAFTZ Annual Conference & Exposition to participate.  Winners not in attendance will be notified after the conference.

Important Dates

  • July 26: Deadline to submit marketing materials Link to Submit
  • August 5: Voting by the membership will begin this week. This webpage will contain all submissions for members to review before casting their vote.
  • August 23: Deadline to cast a vote
  • September 10: Announce winner at NAFTZ Annual Conference in New Orleans