Skip to content

Board of Directors Nomination Application 2024-2025

The National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones annual nomination period for the upcoming board term is now open.  Applications for consideration by the 2024 Nominating Commitee are now being accepted through Friday, June 14th.

All interested members are encouraged to apply.

Applications are accepted through the on-line application form only.  However, given the application asks a number of open-ended questions, applicants are encouraged to prepare for the on-line application by writing their responses separately before completing the on-line application form.  To that end, we have provided a list of the application questions for download.

Please note again: it is recommended that applicants complete the MS Word version of the application first and then cut and paste responses into the on-line application.    

If you have any questions about the application or nominating committee process, please contact NAFTZ President Jeff Tafel at or Nominating Committee Chair, Shane Williams at

  • 2024 NAFTZ Board / Officer application MS Word format - download here.  
  • 2024 NAFTZ Board / Officer on-line applications - click here.  

The members of the 2024 Nominating Committee are:

  • Shane Williams, Nominating Committee Chair, NAFTZ Immediate Past Chair - Service Provider, EY
  • Christopher Carney, Esq. - Operator/User, FDP Brakes
  • William Cawthern - Grantee, Baltimore Development Corporation
  • David Murphy, Esq. - Service Provider, GDLSK
  • Justin Ryan - Grantee, Jacksonville Port Authority (JaxPort)

2024 Nominating Committee process timeline:

  1. Appointment of Nominating Committee – 90 days prior to annual meeting (i.e., no later than June 12)
  2. Initial slate of candidates presented to Board for review – 60 days prior to annual meeting (i.e., no later than July 10)
  3. Final slate of candidates notification to membership – 30 days prior to annual meeting (i.e., no later than August 7)
  4. Vote on slate of candidates at 2022 annual meeting (September 11)