National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones

National Press Building 529 14th Street NW, Suite 1071 Washington, DC 20045 202.331.1950



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 19, 2023

Media Contact:

Jeffrey Tafel

President

JTafel@naftz.or

202-331-1950

National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones Welcomes New Board of Directors

WASHINGTON, DC – The National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ) is pleased to announce the election of four distinguished individuals to its Board of Directors (BOD), effective September 13, 2023. These accomplished leaders bring a wealth of expertise and experience to further advance the NAFTZ's mission of promoting the U.S. Foreign-Trade Zones Program as a catalyst for economic development, job creation, and investment.

- 1. **Shannon Fura** Having served on the Board of Directors and three distinct roles on the Executive Committee, Ms. Fura now assumes the prestigious position of Chair for the 2023 2024 term. As a seasoned professional with two decades of experience in the international sphere, Ms. Fura of Page Fura, P.C., brings a wealth of expertise to her new role. Her impressive background includes representing companies in dealings with U.S. Customs & Border Protection and actively advocating for businesses in matters related to border and supply chain security. Furthermore, Ms. Fura boasts significant experience in the realm of exports, including representation before key entities such as the Bureau of Industry & Security, the Directorate of Defense Trade Controls, the Office of Foreign Assets Control, and the Bureau of the Census. Her multifaceted knowledge, dedication, and experience will undoubtedly make her a valuable asset in her new role as Chair of NAFTZ.
- 2. **Katie Tangman** Having previously served as a Director on the NAFTZ board, Katie Tangman now joins the Executive Committee as Secretary. Ms. Tangman is the Director of Global Customs and Trade at Columbia Sportswear Company, where she leads a team of experts in various domains, including apparel and footwear classification, trade agreement qualification and claims, global trade systems, broker management, and duty optimization programs, including tariff engineering, first sale for export, Foreign-Trade Zone in the U.S., and bonded warehouse in the European Union. Her extensive knowledge and leadership will play a crucial role in guiding the association.
- 3. **Sean Lydon** With a distinguished track record of service within NAFTZ, Sean Lydon has not only chaired but actively contributed to several key committees, including the Program Committee, Advocacy Committee, and Membership Committee. Currently serving as President of ISCM, which he founded in 2011, Mr. Lydon has experience successfully passing legislation in the U.S. Congress, and has secured favorable U.S.

Customs rulings. His extensive experience in trade, advocacy, and business operations uniquely positions him to guide the NAFTZ towards continued success.

4. **Diana Urelius** - Diana Urelius assumes her role on the Board of Directors with a proven history of success in trade compliance programs. As the current chair of the Accreditation committee at NAFTZ, Ms. Urelius plays a pivotal role in managing the Accredited Zone Specialist (AZS) program recognizing experienced FTZ professionals as well as the development of the Certified Zone Specialist (CZS) program to be launched soon. Her 25 years of experience in international trade have resulted in significant cost savings, amounting to tens of millions of dollars, for her current employer, Mitsubishi Logisnext Americas Inc. She was also recently appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce to serve as a member of the Houston District Export Counsil. Ms. Urelius is bringing invaluable insights to the NAFTZ.

These new members of the Board of Directors are eager to contribute their unique perspectives and expertise to further enhance the NAFTZ's mission. The NAFTZ looks forward to the positive impact these distinguished individuals will have on the organization and the broader community it serves.

About the National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ)

The National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ) is a non-profit trade association comprising nearly 800 members spanning across the United States and Puerto Rico. NAFTZ serves as a pivotal resource hub, offering essential tools, informative webinars, and organizing four major events that unite hundreds of Foreign-Trade Zone (FTZ) professionals each year. NAFTZ aims to educate and champion the economic benefits of FTZs, while advocating for FTZ policy. Founded in 1973, NAFTZ continues to be the primary voice of the FTZ community.

For media inquiries, please contact:

Jeffrey Tafel NAFTZ President jtafel@naftz.org

National Association Board of Directors for the 2023 – 2024 Term:

Executive Committee:



Shanna Fura, Page Fura, P.C. **Chair**



James Grogan, FTI Consulting, Inc. Vice Chair



Eric Berry, Copper Hill Treasurer



Katie Tangman,
Columbia Sportwear
Company
Secretary

Directors:



Patricia Cannon, State of Delaware Department of State



Torrey Chambliss,Port Tampa Bay



Wayne Lin,
Floor and Decor Outlets
of America Inc.



Leigh Ryan,World Trade Center
Savannah



Christopher Smith, IKEA Purchasing Services (US) Inc.



Denise Yanez, City of Phoenix



Jennifer VanGundy, Geodis USA, LLC



Miguel Zamora II, Louisville Riverport Authority



David Sikkink, Hawaii Foreign-Trade



Diana Urelius, Mitsubishi Logisnext Americas Inc.



Sean Lydon, ISCM, Inc.



Shane Williams, EY Immediate Past Chair